Elizabeth Skinner


Intrigued by the violin, Elizabeth Skinner began studying at the age of 9 in her hometown of Victoria, Canada. Since then she has gone on to be recognized as an engaging and diverse performer winning solo and chamber awards in Canada and the United States.  As a leader she has enjoyed the role of concertmaster with the McDuffie Center String Ensemble, the McGill Symphony Orchestra, and the McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble. She has had the privilege of working with conductors Ward Stare, Robert Spano, Eric Jacobson, Janos Sandor, Matthias Pintscher, Pablo Heras-Casado, Alan Gilbert and Alexis Hauser, as well as performing with musicians such as Amy Schwartz Moretti, David Halen, Robert McDuffie, Daniel Phillips, Axel Strauss, Eric Nowlin, Marc Coppey, Kurt Muroki, Huw Watkins, Pedja Muzijevic, Johannes Moser, and the members of the Zebra Trio.

As an active performer and chamber musician, Elizabeth has performed in Canada, the United States, Germany, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Japan, South Korea and China. She also collaborates regularly with the piano trio, Trio Armonioso, is the associate concertmaster of Pronto Musica Chamber Orchestra, and is a member Montreal’s cutting-edge classical string band Collectif9.

In May 2013 she graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelor degree in violin performance from the Robert McDuffie Center for Strings at Mercer University in Georgia, USA. She completed her Masters degree in violin performance at McGill University’s Schulich School of Music and is continuing her studies there as she pursues her Doctorate of Music in Performance Studies under the instruction of Axel Strauss.

She was the winner of the Canadian Music Competition 19-30 years strings category (2015), Jeunesses Musicales du Canada’s Peter Mendell Award (2015), the strings category of the Prix d’Europe competition, as well as winner of the 3rd prize in the overall competition, and Guy Soucie prize for her interpretation of a Québécois work (2016).  Most recently she was a recipient of the Sylva Gelber Music Foundation award (2017).